Requiem for Neurasthenia

By Gregory JM Kasunich

_________________

 

Today I learned a word:

Neurasthenia – now arcane and obsolete

And yet I found it resonant,

(A root?) (A seed?) deep inside of me

It’s definition- ill defined,

It’s practice- out of time,

An embarrassment on the books.

(like blood letting or phrenology)

But I was drawn to it vagueness

Its lassitude, its weightiness

To plumb and mine that consternation

deep inside of me–

So I wonder if in our haste

to refine and define with precision and grace

all such abnormalities, we have laid to waste those

unfounded insights from physicians of long gone centuries

perhaps- (back then) before the DSM, there was a word

a term

to describe

me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

