The Construction Crew Outside My House

The Construction Crew Outside My House

By

Gregory JM Kasunich

The work had announced itself
a flyer hooked to the storm door

I disregarded it along with the mailer
who can be bothered?

Before my alarm the men where there
splitting the earth and morning apart

This hiss and rattle and grind of the work disturbed my own
days and nights and mornings on end

the vibrations joining with the hot miasma of the city
a sweltering sheet of of sound

but how I wish knew how much longer I must endure
and for what all this suffering was for

If only I had read the flyer on my door.

Leave a Reply

